- Services Award -


Every years World Parkinson’s Program celebrates World Parkinson’s Day by honoring the dedication, passion, and leadership of up to three outstanding individuals from all over the world for their generous contribution towards improving the quality of life of individuals with Parkinson’s disease with the Dr. Rana International Parkinson’s Community Service Award. These extraordinary individuals share our vision of improving the care of Parkinson’s disease globally. Tireless dedication and hard work of these individuals not only makes a difference in the quality of life of individuals with Parkinson’s disease but also helps caregivers to better cope with stress and ease the burden of taking care of their loved ones. By recognizing those individuals who inspire others, World Parkinson’s Program’s dedication for community service continues through the work of others.

This award is given to continue the legacy and appreciate the unique contribution of Dr. A.Q. Rana, founder and former chair of the World Parkinson’s Program for his exceptional vision, dedication of community work, commitment and perseverance, who redefined the comprehensive approach to education of patients, caregiver and healthcare workers and strengthened the efforts to improve care of those living with Parkinson’s around the world.
Members of online community of World Parkinson’s Program or subscribers of the electronic newsletter of World Parkinson’s Program, global Parkinson’s community and healthcare organizations or community may submit nominations for consideration of Dr.Rana International Parkinson’s Community Service Award from January 1st to March 1st every year. Any individual above the age of 18 years, or Parkinson’s Associations or other healthcare organizations may nominate individuals who have consistently presented themselves as role models and leaders in the field of Parkinson’s disease or Parkinson’s community.

Nomination Recommendations

  • Parkinson’s community members who may be caregivers, patients, workers, volunteers, bloggers, media professionals, donors and philanthropists or individuals with passion for Parkinson’s disease who strengthen the voice of Parkinson’s community.
  • Allied healthcare workers providing care to Parkinson’s patients, nurses, clinical research coordinators, innovators, and educators of Parkinson’s disease.
  • Physicians, neurologists, neurosurgeons, physiotherapists, speech and swallowing therapists, occupational therapists,massage therapists, chiropractitioners, researchers, neuroscientists with background in Parkinson’s disease research, and other healthcare practitioners working in the fields related to Parkinson’s disease.
  • Organizers, committee and board members of various Parkinson’s Associations, individuals from Parkinson’s support groups, Parkinson’s Education Clubs, who play a pivotal role in this cause going above and beyond the call of duty.
  • Individuals cannot nominate themselves. Previous award recipients are not eligible. The list may be found at the bottom of this page.
  • Those Individuals who were nominated previously but could not win the award previously can be nominated again.

Nomination Process

Nominations may be submitted by sending the completed nominations form by email at info@pdprogram.org from January 1st and should be received no later than March 1st every year.

Nomination forms are available for download at our website. Nomination forms MUST be completely filled including the following information:

  • Name, title, organization name (if applicable), address, telephone numbers and email address of both the nominator and nominee(s)
  • Answers to all Award Criterion requirements
  • Supplemental information that illustrates the nominees’ contribution to the community.
  • All nomination materials submitted becomes the property of World Parkinson’s Program and is not returned
Incomplete forms will NOT be considered.

Selection Process and Announcement of Recipients

The Award Selection Committee does an in-depth and extensive review of all nominations considering the following criterion:

  • History of involvement of nominee in the Parkinson’s Community
  • Dedication to addressing the healthcare needs of Parkinson’s Community
  • Details of nominee’s projects related to Parkinson’s disease
  • Leadership role of nominee in Parkinson’s Community
  • Impact made by the nominee in improving the quality of life of individuals with Parkinson’s disease
  • Factors motivating nominator to nominate a certain individual
The results are announced on April 11, The World Parkinson’s Day in the electronic newsletter (E-News) of World Parkinson’s Program. The recipients are informed via email. The results may also be announced in local media by a previous Award Recipient on behalf of the World Parkinson’s Program. The recipients MUST agree to submit their auto-biography and allow the World Parkinson’s Program to post their names on this web page. The Awards and Certificates may be given through the National Parkinson’s Association of the recipient’s country in their annual meeting or mailed to the recipients.


  • To be announced on April 11 2021


  •  Dr. Richard Walker, UK


  • Dr. John Bennett, Florida, USA

Announced on the World Parkinson’s Day, April 11, 2018,

  • Kevin Kwok, Theravance Biopharma, San Francisco, USA

Announced on the World Parkinson’s Day, April 11, 2017,

  • Anthony Chambers, Medical Assistant, Neurology, San Antonio, Texas, USA
  • Dr. Robert Wilcox, Neurologist, Flinders Medical Centre, Bedford Park, Adelaide, Australia

Announced on the World Parkinson’s Day, April 11, 2016 by Margarita Makoutonina, Director ParkLife, Australia and previous Award Recipient

  • Dr. Kelly D. Foote, Neurosurgeon, University of Florida, USA.
  • Dr. Karen Jaffe, Physician (Retired), Cleveland Heights, OH, USA.
  • Gwyn M. Vernon, Nurse Practitioner, Pennsylvania, USA.

Announced on April 11, 2015 by H.M. Qasim, Past Chair World Parkinson’s Program

  • Roger Barker, Professor of Neurology, John van Geest Centre for Brain Repair, Cambridge U.K.
  • Christine Belford, Chief Executive Officer of Parkinson’s Disease South Australia.
  • Olie Westheimer, Executive Director of Brooklyn Parkinson Group, Brooklyn, NY, USA.

Announced on April 11, 2014 by Margarita Makoutonina, Director ParkLife, Australia and previous Award Recipient

  • Roger David Borrow, Volunteer Singapore Parkinson Society, Singapore.
  • Lizzie Graham, Director of fundraising and global communication, European Parkinson disease Association, London, UK
  • Marten Munneke,MD, Director ParkinsonNet, Netherlands

Announced on April 11, 2013 by Mr. H.M.Qasim, Past Chair World Parkinson’s Program

  • Prof. Jonathan Carr, Consultant Neurologist, Tygerberg Hospital, Cape Town, South Africa
  • Mr. Tom Isaacs, President and Co-founder, The Cure Parkinson’s Trust, London, United Kingdom
  • Mrs. Ruth Withey, Parkinson’s’ Clinical and Education Nurse, Flinders Medical Centre, Department of Neurology, Bedford Park , Adelaide, Australia